Is Portland over?

Page 42 of 45« First<39404142434445>
June 14th, 2023 at 10:19:37 AM permalink
missedhervee
Threads: 96
My buddy was interested in it, he'd mentioned ayahuasca before.

My days as a "psychedelic warrior" are long passed, but he still likes to dabnle, esp. in the locally sourced psylocibin mushrooms; thanks for the interesting article, I'll forward it to him.

Oregon has legalized the limited use of psylocibin but at this point it is just ramping up and a legal "trip" will cost too much for most folks, apparently.

While I am not a progressive, I listen primarily to a Portland listener-supported FM radio station, KBOO: incredibly diverse programming, from progressive talking heads to music of the south Asian diaspora.

Saturday AM is bluegrass for a few hours, then a couple hours of the Grateful Dead.

Available on the internet for those curious enough to stream it and get a taste of the good old Portland vibe.
June 15th, 2023 at 4:14:08 AM permalink
DoubleGold
Threads: 30
I sometimes call them "psychonauts".

I am only interested in being naturally high.

I like to read about it though, especially the parts about self.

So I can learn more about myself and how self works.
June 16th, 2023 at 11:36:58 AM permalink
Evenbob
Threads: 146
I just saw a video of San Francisco of Powell Street which is one of the busiest streets in San Francisco. Whole blocks of it are now totally devoid of businesses on both sides of the street where just a few years ago every storefront had a business. An entire block might have a Burger King now, or McDonald's and that's it. They closed because of the constant crapping on the sidewalks by the homeless and the relentless shoplifting that eventually either put the stores out of business or if they were a chain they just moved elsewhere. This is what liberalism looks like when it's left to its own devices.
If you take a risk, you may lose. If you never take a risk, you will always lose.