The Gay Thread

September 11th, 2019 at 4:49:19 PM permalink
Face
Threads: 61
Quote: fleaswatter

WHY IS HE NOT SUSPENDED???

Glad to finally have this convo.

Restraint. Since the beginning, I've been loathe to use my own limited experience as a benchmark for what is and is not appropriate. I've long held the stance and stated publicly that this is yours to make good or s#$% on and take as hands off an approach as I can, and while I certainly have my many biases (which I openly admit to) I like to think my actions are either unbiased enough to not feel shame over, or not conducted at all due to bias which I feel is not ignorable.

So let's look at this...

Quote: terp
GOP says hell yes to children getting married
Pretty sick
https://thehill.com/homenews/state-watch/377367-tennessee-gop-kill-ban-on-child-marriage
Republicans hate gays as you can see in this thread but support children getting married. Talk about bizarre

I've no knowledge of this issue, but it is in itself a worthy topic. terp then engages in low effort comms that are the source (IMO) of many problems, by using umbrella terms such as "Republicans... support children getting married", which is the type of surface think, click baity BS prevalent in too much media and most of this thread. Talking about the Republicans who are for such a thing, absolute fair game. But to word it so that it includes the vast majority for whom this wackadoo does not represent, I feel, is either low calorie tabloidism not fit for the forum, or inciteful jabs at a subset of the forum. Suspending terp for multiple postings, trolling, bullying or general ungentlemanly behavior would require only a pragmatic act of rule. I will give you that. (FWIW, his follow up, specifying the Republicans of Tennessee and asking the members of the forum their stance is, in comparison, a perfect example of how I would expect this to be handled.)