Musical instruments you play, or want to play

Page 1 of 41234>
September 16th, 2018 at 7:19:39 AM permalink
Dalex64
Threads: 3
What musical instruments do you play?

How long have you played it?

Are there instruments you want to learn, or wish you had learned?
"Everyone is entitled to his own opinion, but not to his own facts." Daniel Patrick Moynihan
September 16th, 2018 at 7:27:57 AM permalink
Dalex64
My main instrument is Clarinet. I started in 5th grade, and played it through 11th grade. My senior year I switched to oboe. I played them in both band an orchestra.

After that, I took about 20 years off, before joining a community band. I have been playing clarinet in that band for about 5 years now.

During that time, a small ensemble of the band was looking for E-Flat Alto Horn players, a brass instrument that is no longer in common use. I taught myself that, and now play that as well.

That opened up an opportunity to play in a civil-war era recreation band. I also play Eb Alto in that band, but almost all of our horns are actual ~150 year old civil war era over-the-shoulder (rear facing bell) saxhorns.

I have also dabbled a bit with piano, took a couple of "class piano" classes (basics for teachers) in college and taught myself a bit more after that. I bought an electronic piano for that purpose, and got my kids lessons and now they are quite good. (I am not)

I wish I had learned piano earlier and more formally, and also wish I had learned to play guitar.
"Everyone is entitled to his own opinion, but not to his own facts." Daniel Patrick Moynihan
September 16th, 2018 at 8:09:27 AM permalink
Fleastiff
Threads: 62
We all wish we could play more instruments. I'm probably tone deaf and wouldn't know an octave from an octothorpe but that doesn't mean I don't regret not having learned something about music and learned to play an instrument.