Future: DC yes, AC no?

June 25th, 2016 at 11:23:39 AM permalink
petroglyph
Threads: 25
Quote: Face
For real =)

I make my living on the road. As far as "dangerous jobs" go, sitting defenseless and invisible to most of the pop has gotta be right up there. And the pay's gotta be a damn sight better. And no Xmas rush? Where do I sign?!

I could hold a chopper steady, I'm sure. OK, not sure, but willing to try! =D
I think the local union near you is Local #3, New York?

Call them, demand paperwork and tell them you are trying to meet the country's energy needs. I think you would be a shoe in.

I'd proudly send you my belt and hooks.
The last official act of any government is to loot the treasury. GW
June 25th, 2016 at 1:39:30 PM permalink
Pacomartin
Threads: 1068
Quote: petroglyph
I'd proudly send you my belt and hooks.

Can I ask a question since we are on this subject. There is a 50 yard spur into my next door neighbor's utility easement which is heavily wooded with old growth trees. They have a single utility pole and a 7200V line running to that pole with a 50 kVA transformer that feeds three homes and a garage apartment.

The kicker is that one of the homes feeding off the 50 kVA is about 150 yards away, and they string the drop along two intermediate utility poles. The first 50 yards simply doubles back underneath the 7200V line.

We just had a fire caused by a tree blowing into a 7200V line. The utility pole had been damaged for years and was leaning over half splintered into the tree. The power company refused to replace the pole even though it was visibly damaged. Finally one windy night the tree blew into the line and caught on fire.

I asked them if they could relocate the 50 kVa transformer off the heavily wooded private property and put it back on the street where it would be safer. Right now the trees are almost 70-100' higher than the utility pole, and they could drop branches onto the 7200V line.