Come on Paco! Work it's "WEIGH"????

"It's?"
Donald Trump is a one-term LOSER
April 8th, 2013 at 2:38:43 PM permalink
Pacomartin
Threads: 1068
Quote: DocZZZ
Come on Paco! Work it's "WEIGH"????

I was just discussing this problem. I have developed a brain glitch regarding homonyms. I don't know if it is a function of age, or typing on a screen instead of writing on paper.I am not illiterate, and they are never a function of ignorance. Most of the time, I catch them before hitting the SEND or POST button.

It usually strikes at there= their, its= it's, and to= two. I have never done weigh=way before.

I have heard the term Homonym Aphasia which some professional writers complain about, It usually strikes at age 60. It is actually very distressing to me when I started doing it.

Elizabeth Zelvin, a professional writer tells her story
April 8th, 2013 at 4:48:36 PM permalink
Fleastiff
Threads: 62
No never. Women don't want to reveal their weight or the weight of their luggage.
Yes, it may be critical on some flights. FAA averages for people and bags are woefully antiquated and some accident reconstructions have turned on weighing the luggage rather than relying on estimates for weight and balance and center of gravity shift based on "average bags".

Fines and surcharges annoy the public but Fattie Discrimination won't help.
April 8th, 2013 at 7:14:12 PM permalink
Pacomartin
Quote: Fleastiff
No never. Women don't want to reveal their weight or the weight of their luggage.

I suppose it won't be pleasant for anyone, but it would give the airline the opportunity to put a few rows of seats in for obese people and make up for lost revenue. Right now they are forced to make a yes/no decision to require people to purchase two seats.

The husband of a 450 pound woman is suing the airlines for $6 million. They flew them to Hungary, and then would not board her for the flight home. She died because she did not get medical treatment for her diabetes in time.