737 Max Crash

Page 2 of 3<123>
March 16th, 2019 at 8:45:46 AM permalink
Face
Threads: 61
Quote: odiousgambit

so to think you need to have a system to automatically correct the situation does say they have to allow for pilots who are inexperienced. Why would they be flying big airliners?

Ignorant opinion here, but I don't think the system is just for the inexperienced. Weather can erase visual cues, and plane movement can erase "seat of the pants" feel. In a cloud of swirling grey, a few dials is all that tells you what you're doing, and dials fail / get ignored / are misread.

It does seem odd, what with all the altimeter info, that THAT is not the prime directive. Stalling is sometimes just an simple, easily correctable error. Driving into the ground is always a big deal.
Be bold and risk defeat, or be cautious and encourage it.
March 16th, 2019 at 7:54:08 PM permalink
beachbumbabs
Threads: 6
I'm a pilot and a controller, but that doesn't mean I know a lot about flying jets.

However, I think there are unaddressed issues beyond the obvious. One is that type-ratings are expensive and time-consuming. The B737Max has evolved from about 50 years of producing B737. Just about the only things the Max has in common with a B737-200 (first widely flown production model) is the number of engines. 2. End of story.

The B737 is the most flown, by model, of all air carriers. So there are hundreds of thousands of certificated pilots for it. Sales point in marketing the Max: your pilots already know how to fly it! They're already type-rated (licensed to fly)! Plug n play compatibility!