is Amazon getting worse?

Page 1 of 91234>Last »
June 10th, 2015 at 10:33:13 PM permalink
reno
Threads: 58
I have been ordering from Amazon since 1999. I probably make about 4 or 5 purchases a year from this company. And I am convinced that Amazon is getting worse.

Their sales pitch for Amazon Prime is growing increasingly loud & obtrusive.

For example, I keep stumbling upon mundane, ordinary household items that can only be purchased if you join Amazon Prime. In my case, I was looking for Tums Regular Strength Peppermint. Non-Prime members can purchase a 4 pack. But if you want to buy just 1 bottle, you have to join Prime. There's a loophole, whereupon I can buy it from a third party, and Amazon will process the payment, but there is a mandatory $3 shipping charge, even though my order is already well past the $35 threshhold for Amazon free shipping. So now Amazon wants $7 for a bottle of Tums that every Walgreens, Target, and CVS sells for $4. Huh?

It's all part of Prime Pantry, which includes popular household items we're all familiar with: Bounty, Tide, Lysol, Cheerios, Tums, Crest, etc. The rest of us non-Prime peasants are banned from this elite, exclusive shopping paradise.

This is a foolish mistake on Amazon's part. If I can buy these items anywhere, they're not giving me an incentive to join Prime. They're just punishing me for not joining Prime. That's their perogative, it's their website. But they're needlessly missing out on some lost revenue. This policy doesn't benefit Amazon, it benefits Walgreens. Surely the profit margin on Crest & Cheerios is wide enough for a retailer as massive as Amazon that it's worth their while to sell it to all customers, not just Prime customers.

I'd be more annoyed if Tums was a rare, obscure item. But it's not. I'll just buy the Tums tomorrow when I swing by the supermarket for the milk & eggs. Amazon's loss, not mine.
June 11th, 2015 at 12:33:26 AM permalink
Evenbob
Threads: 146